The Pharmacy building opened in 1924 and has seen little change since then. Demand for space led to an addition in 1966 and at one time the 2nd floor included a model drug store, which was described in a pharmacy trade magazine of the time as providing “a laboratory for instruction in store arrangement, showcase and window decorating and practical salesmanship of drugs and druggists’ sundries.” It has been used exclusively by the College of Pharmacy.
The College of Business (originally known as the School of Commerce) has been headquartered in Bexell Hall since 1922, when the building was completed. In the 1923/24 academic year, more than one quarter of all Oregon Agricultural College students (917 out of 3199) were enrolled in the School of Commerce. The next largest enrollment was 486 students in the School of Home Economics.
Women in costumes in the School of Commerce classroom in Bexell Hall.
Bexell hall as seen from the outside circa 1933
Bulletin board for Business & Technology in Commerce Building.
Computer labs became an integral part of OSU's educational infrastructure in the late 1980s.
Address: Pharmacy Building, 1601 SW Jefferson Way, Corvallis, OregonEdit | Back