Built on the site of the first Mechanical Hall, destroyed by fire in 1898, the building now called Kearney Hall opened in 1900. Originally a two-story building designed by Portland architect Edgar Lazarus, the third floor was added in 1920 and renamed Apperson Hall. It was renovated, expanded, and renamed Kearney Hall in 2009. Though Kearney Hall has been used by the College of Engineering its entire life, it also housed the printing department for many years.
The College of Business (originally known as the School of Commerce) has been headquartered in Bexell Hall since 1922, when the building was completed. In the 1923/24 academic year, more than one quarter of all Oregon Agricultural College students (917 out of 3199) were enrolled in the School of Commerce. The next largest enrollment was 486 students in the School of Home Economics.
Women in costumes in the School of Commerce classroom in Bexell Hall.
Bexell hall as seen from the outside circa 1933
Bulletin board for Business & Technology in Commerce Building.
Computer labs became an integral part of OSU's educational infrastructure in the late 1980s.
Address: 1491 SW Campus Way, Corvallis, OregonEdit | Back