This unique building, with its modest west side and noteworthy east side, opened in 1898 as the college gymnasium and armory. Like many building on campus, the Gymnastics Center has had many occupants and many names, including the armory, gymnasium, and examination hall. It was the Mitchell Playhouse - before being converted back into a gymnasium in the early 1990s.
The building was condemned in 1990, but it was given a second chance in 1992 thanks to a donation for renovation from OSU alumni Wayne & Gladys Valley.
Flickr Images (Valley_Gymnastics_Center_Tour)