Anyone gazing at Gilkey Hall today and pondering its long history must start in 1889 – with an entirely different building. Alpha Hall originally sat on this plot until it was moved in 1911, literally clearing the way for a new building to house offices for Dairy Husbandry, as well as butter and cheese labs. The College of Liberal Arts has occupied the space since the early 1950s, and the building was renamed in 2001 for Gordon Gilkey, who was chair of the Art Department, Dean of Liberal Arts, and an internationally recognized art scholar.
The College of Business (originally known as the School of Commerce) has been headquartered in Bexell Hall since 1922, when the building was completed. In the 1923/24 academic year, more than one quarter of all Oregon Agricultural College students (917 out of 3199) were enrolled in the School of Commerce. The next largest enrollment was 486 students in the School of Home Economics.
Women in costumes in the School of Commerce classroom in Bexell Hall.
Bexell hall as seen from the outside circa 1933
Bulletin board for Business & Technology in Commerce Building.
Computer labs became an integral part of OSU's educational infrastructure in the late 1980s.
Address: 207 Gilkey Hall, 122 SW Waldo Pl, Corvallis, OregonEdit | Back