Strand Agricultural Hall is a sprawling building sitting between the two campus quads. This Italian Renaissance style building is actually comprised of three buildings – totaling 115,991 square feet! The wings on the north and south sides are each three-stories, while the central building, designed by Portland architect John Bennes, is four-stories with a fifth-floor penthouse. It was named for August L. Strand in 1984, OSU's president from 1942 to 1961.
The College of Business (originally known as the School of Commerce) has been headquartered in Bexell Hall since 1922, when the building was completed. In the 1923/24 academic year, more than one quarter of all Oregon Agricultural College students (917 out of 3199) were enrolled in the School of Commerce. The next largest enrollment was 486 students in the School of Home Economics.
Women in costumes in the School of Commerce classroom in Bexell Hall.
Bexell hall as seen from the outside circa 1933
Bulletin board for Business & Technology in Commerce Building.
Computer labs became an integral part of OSU's educational infrastructure in the late 1980s.
Address: 126 Strand Agriculture Hall, Corvallis, OregonEdit | Back