This is one of architect John Bennes’ earliest designs for OSU's campus. Its core portion was constructed in 1913 for the School of Domestic Science, which later became known the School of Home Economics, and significant additions to the building were added in 1920 and 1952. The Home Economics Building was rededicated as Milam Hall in 1976 to honor the contributions of Ava B. Milam, who was a leading feminist of the era and Dean of the School of Home Economics from 1917 to 1950.
The College of Business (originally known as the School of Commerce) has been headquartered in Bexell Hall since 1922, when the building was completed. In the 1923/24 academic year, more than one quarter of all Oregon Agricultural College students (917 out of 3199) were enrolled in the School of Commerce. The next largest enrollment was 486 students in the School of Home Economics.
Women in costumes in the School of Commerce classroom in Bexell Hall.
Bexell hall as seen from the outside circa 1933
Bulletin board for Business & Technology in Commerce Building.
Computer labs became an integral part of OSU's educational infrastructure in the late 1980s.
Address: 2520 SW Campus Way, Corvallis, OregonEdit | Back