When it was dedicated on June 1, 1929 the Memorial Union could boast being the first student union in the state and that its funding came from alumni and student contributions. Construction on the grand building was completed in 1928 and the MU quickly became the center of campus life. Designed by Portland-based architect and 1907 OAC graduate Lee Thomas, the MU stands as both a student center and memorial to honor the service people who died in WWI.
The College of Business (originally known as the School of Commerce) has been headquartered in Bexell Hall since 1922, when the building was completed. In the 1923/24 academic year, more than one quarter of all Oregon Agricultural College students (917 out of 3199) were enrolled in the School of Commerce. The next largest enrollment was 486 students in the School of Home Economics.
Women in costumes in the School of Commerce classroom in Bexell Hall.
Bexell hall as seen from the outside circa 1933
Bulletin board for Business & Technology in Commerce Building.
Computer labs became an integral part of OSU's educational infrastructure in the late 1980s.
Address: 2501 SW Jefferson Way, Corvallis, OregonEdit | Back