John Bennes designed many gorgeous buildings for OSU, but this one, constructed in 1926 as the women’s gymnasium and totaling 87,486 sq feet in its two-stories and full basement, is considered one of his grandest structures on campus. It features a 30' x 70' swimming pool, lounge and assembly room with a large fireplace, dance studio, library, and dining room in original condition.
The College of Business (originally known as the School of Commerce) has been headquartered in Bexell Hall since 1922, when the building was completed. In the 1923/24 academic year, more than one quarter of all Oregon Agricultural College students (917 out of 3199) were enrolled in the School of Commerce. The next largest enrollment was 486 students in the School of Home Economics.
Women in costumes in the School of Commerce classroom in Bexell Hall.
Bexell hall as seen from the outside circa 1933
Bulletin board for Business & Technology in Commerce Building.
Computer labs became an integral part of OSU's educational infrastructure in the late 1980s.
Address: 160 SW 26th St, Corvallis, OregonEdit | Back