Though the English and Psychology departments are now in Moreland Hall, the building opened in 1917 as the "Forestry Building." The College of Forestry stayed until Peavy Hall opened in the early 1970s. When the Forestry folks moved out and the English and Psychology moved in, the building needed a new name! In 1973, the building was renamed in honor of W. W. Moreland, a faculty member in the 19th century and clerk of the State Legislature.
The College of Business (originally known as the School of Commerce) has been headquartered in Bexell Hall since 1922, when the building was completed. In the 1923/24 academic year, more than one quarter of all Oregon Agricultural College students (917 out of 3199) were enrolled in the School of Commerce. The next largest enrollment was 486 students in the School of Home Economics.
Women in costumes in the School of Commerce classroom in Bexell Hall.
Bexell hall as seen from the outside circa 1933
Bulletin board for Business & Technology in Commerce Building.
Computer labs became an integral part of OSU's educational infrastructure in the late 1980s.
Address: 2550 sw jefferson way, Corvallis, OregonEdit | Back