The Men’s Gymnasium, built in 1915 and named Langton Hall in the early 1970s, was designed by John Bennes. In addition to its use as a gym, the building was also used for commencement activities until Gill Coliseum opened in 1950. Today it houses the Intramural Sports offices, the department of exercise and sport science, and is used for physical education classes. Did you know? The bronze sculpture is called “The Runner “ (1920) – it was one of the first pieces of artwork on campus.
The College of Business (originally known as the School of Commerce) has been headquartered in Bexell Hall since 1922, when the building was completed. In the 1923/24 academic year, more than one quarter of all Oregon Agricultural College students (917 out of 3199) were enrolled in the School of Commerce. The next largest enrollment was 486 students in the School of Home Economics.
Women in costumes in the School of Commerce classroom in Bexell Hall.
Bexell hall as seen from the outside circa 1933
Bulletin board for Business & Technology in Commerce Building.
Computer labs became an integral part of OSU's educational infrastructure in the late 1980s.
Address: 2450 sw jefferson way, Corvallis, OregonEdit | Back