The OSU baseball team has laced up on the same site since 1907, boasting the oldest baseball diamond among PAC-10 schools and one of the oldest for colleges and universities in the country. It wasn’t until 1998 that the “baseball field” was renamed Goss Stadium at Coleman Field – and when it was renamed it was also significantly remodeled! Look right next door and you’ll now see Dixon Recreation Center; however, from 1913 until 1953 this was the site informally known as "The College Field," where the school played football. It was officially name Bell Field in 1921 to honor John Richard Newton Bell.
The College of Business (originally known as the School of Commerce) has been headquartered in Bexell Hall since 1922, when the building was completed. In the 1923/24 academic year, more than one quarter of all Oregon Agricultural College students (917 out of 3199) were enrolled in the School of Commerce. The next largest enrollment was 486 students in the School of Home Economics.
Women in costumes in the School of Commerce classroom in Bexell Hall.
Bexell hall as seen from the outside circa 1933
Bulletin board for Business & Technology in Commerce Building.
Computer labs became an integral part of OSU's educational infrastructure in the late 1980s.
Address: 430 Southwest Langton Place, Corvallis, OregonEdit | Back