This unique building, with its modest west side and noteworthy east side, opened in 1898 as the college gymnasium and armory. Like many building on campus, the Gymnastics Center has had many occupants and many names, including the armory, gymnasium, and examination hall. It was the Mitchell Playhouse - before being converted back into a gymnasium in the early 1990s. The building was condemned in 1990, but it was given a second chance in 1992 thanks to a donation for renovation from OSU alumni Wayne & Gladys Valley.
The College of Business (originally known as the School of Commerce) has been headquartered in Bexell Hall since 1922, when the building was completed. In the 1923/24 academic year, more than one quarter of all Oregon Agricultural College students (917 out of 3199) were enrolled in the School of Commerce. The next largest enrollment was 486 students in the School of Home Economics.
Women in costumes in the School of Commerce classroom in Bexell Hall.
Bexell hall as seen from the outside circa 1933
Bulletin board for Business & Technology in Commerce Building.
Computer labs became an integral part of OSU's educational infrastructure in the late 1980s.
Address: 1701 SW Jefferson Way, Corvallis, OregonEdit | Back